A For Real Sewing Project

For my bestie’s birthday I wanted to make her a tea dress but wasn’t sure how to ask her for her measurements without it being weird. Then last week she asked if I could make her a dress for her soon to be sister-in-law’s bridal shower. Totes on the same page! Now I just have to make the darn thing!

Being the Pinterest addict that I am I found a bunch of cute dresses made from vintage sheets and thought what a smart thing to do! Sheets are super comfy and when purchased at the thrift store, so much cheaper than buying fabric by the yard! I picked up a lovely floral pattern (the dress is for a tea so the floral is perfect) and have a New Look pattern ready to go. I’m waiting on her measurements now and have been YouTubing to figure out how to adjust pattern sizing if need be. I’m excited but also nervous because I want it to come out looking professional and keep picturing Theo Huxtable in a mangled shirt that Denise made for him. (Anyone else know what I’m talking about here?)

If anyone is reading this please wish me lotso luck!

Here's the pattern and fabric for the dress. Going for style "C", the yellow dress on the envelope.

Here’s the pattern and fabric for the dress. Going for style “C”, the yellow dress on the envelope.

One thought on “A For Real Sewing Project

Leave a Reply

