The Road to Effie- Part 1, Turning Old Heirlooms into One New Mash-up

I’ve got the two dresses I am going to mash up in my possession!!! There are still a few design things I need to work out in my mind but overall I am picturing Effie fabulosity. We’ll see if I can pull off what’s in my head.

 

I took two two lavender dresses from my families past, that (sigh) I totally cannot fit into anymore. The first is a dark lavender puff sleeved (Of course you need puff sleeves for Effie) gown of my sister’s from the eighties. Yay for my mom keeping everything! It’s when the eighties tried to emulate Victorian fashion, but you know, poorly. It’s got the lace high collared front and everything! I’m planning on keeping the sleeves, some of the lace collar, and turning the full skirt into a knee length pencil skirt. Soooo Effie!

 

The second dress is near and dear to my heart. One because it was meant to be for my junior high school prom. Silly me bought a dress before I had a date, didn’t have the cajones to ask anyone myself and didn’t have the confidence to go on my own. Oh well. the second reason I love this dress so much is because I am in my thirties now and am very nostalgic over my high school year. Yay for late 90’s spaghetti strap ball gowns. I almost hate to cut it up. Almost. But really, when am I going to be in shape like I was in high school, and when am I going to need a corseted ball gown (says the gal who covets a beautiful bell skirted dress from the 60s if her mothers and thanks god she never gave it away or tarnished it… Maybe I’ll have a daughter and by the time she goes to prom 1990s ball gowns will sooo in fashion again. Sorry imaginary daughter, mommy’s got to mess this dress up!)

 

Anyhow, stay tuned for more “The Road to Effie” posts!

Her are the two dresses that will eventually become my Effie costume.

Her are the two dresses that will eventually become my Effie costume.

I tried on my sister's dress. Yeesh! This definitely needs a reconstruct!

I tried on my sister’s dress. Yeesh! This definitely needs a reconstruct!

Leave a Reply

